Got into one school, but not sure if I want to go....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pico61

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in need of some advice. I got into one school out of state. I am a Cali resident, but have been rejected by many schools already. I was not going to apply to this out of state school, but I did, and I interviewed and just found out I got in. However, I have to help my parents out so I am not sure I can move to another state. What it look bad if I declined the acceptance and took the mcat again and reapplied? Has anyone does this? Damn, I don't know what to do.

Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

A few questions:
Is this a temporary or long-term help? Could you defer for a year and then go to med school?
How do you have to help your parents out? If it's financially, you probably won't have time in med school to work, no matter where you go. And if it's to help take care of a family member, how do you know you'll get into a med school near your parents next time?
Have you asked your parents what they think? Do they want you to stay if it means giving up med school for awhile?
Please, don't make any hasty decisions. There are plenty of us cali residents depending on out-of-state schools.

studentstudent said:
A few questions:
Is this a temporary or long-term help? Could you defer for a year and then go to med school?
How do you have to help your parents out? If it's financially, you probably won't have time in med school to work, no matter where you go. And if it's to help take care of a family member, how do you know you'll get into a med school near your parents next time?
Have you asked your parents what they think? Do they want you to stay if it means giving up med school for awhile?
Please, don't make any hasty decisions. There are plenty of us cali residents depending on out-of-state schools.