GP working in adult mental health

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DRZIVAR

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello friends I am a newly licensed GP physician who got a job opportunity in rural Georgia to practice medicine in an Adult Mental Health facility. I am new to this field and it has its own challenges. I wanted to see if anyone has the same experience dealing with patients who have been diagnosed with schizophrenia, Bipolar disorders or depression which is majority of what I see here. I want to give patients benefit of the doubt and treat them however I am becoming skeptical if patients are telling me stories that needs to be heard for them to be diagnosed with schizophrenia specially. Diagnosing patients with that obviously is subjective as you have to listen to a patient and if they say they are hallucinating or delusional then it diagnosis has to be made and medications started. Obviously this is the battle in psychiatry where diagnosis modalities are not really there such as xrays and blood tests. I just wanted to see if some other colleagues have been in the same boat and what advise is out there for a new GP here to protect physician and treat patients accordingly.

Members don't see this ad.

Sounds as though you're essentially needing to practice psychiatry without the benefit of four year's extensive, specialized training in it. I'd suggest doing what you can to rectify that -- find out if there are some good psych CME events near you--maybe from Emory or one of the S. Carolina programs. (I'm far away from you, but our organization does regular "Psychiatry Update" CME conferences aimed at primary care docs. Hopefully something similar is accessible to you.)
I would also advise you to persistently petition your superiors and request additional training--reminding them that it might be a liability for them if you're practicing beyond the scope of your knowledge.