• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

GPA < 3.0 chances?

choclea420

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Oct 18, 2008
  1. Pre-Medical
    Hello, I am a fourth year undergrad student with a cumulative GPA less than 3.0 (on a 4.5 scale of University of Manitoba). I got a score of 24 on my 1st attempt at MCAT for which I did not prepare much. I am planning to re-write my MCAT. I have extensive hospital and other volunteer experience Also, I am a Canadian citizen. I want to be realistic and explore my options of getting into a med school.

1. Would it be better to continue taking more courses (or repeating the ones I have already taken) and get better grades to improve my GPA? (Some schools like mine look at best 3 years regardless of how many courses one takes)

2. Is there any possibility of me getting into a U.S medical school with my current GPA and an improved MCAT score? If so, which U.S schools accept Canadian citizens?

3. Would applying to Caribbean med school (SGU, ROSS, SABA) be the best option at this point?

Is there any other option that I am unaware of? Really need to figure this out before I declare my graduation.

Thanks.

flodhi1

Membership Revoked
    Removed
    Jan 31, 2011
    1. Medical Student
      Hello, I am a fourth year undergrad student with a cumulative GPA less than 3.0 (on a 4.5 scale of University of Manitoba). I got a score of 24 on my 1st attempt at MCAT for which I did not prepare much. I am planning to re-write my MCAT. I have extensive hospital and other volunteer experience Also, I am a Canadian citizen. I want to be realistic and explore my options of getting into a med school.