GPA Repair Advice (Recent PreMed/NonTrad)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PurpleCladm8

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated in December 2015 from a University of California with a B.S. in Exercise Biology. Admittedly, I didn't have much of a direction and perhaps wasn't as motivated in regards to academics as I should have been. I finished with a cumulative uGPA of 3.32 and I estimate my sGPA to be very similar (maybe a hair lower). I have come to recent realization that going to Medical School is something that I want to pursue and am very much looking forward to the next 1-2 years to build a solid resume and make myself a competent applicant (I am 23 y.o. and am okay being a NonTrad).

So where I currently stand:
B.S. -3.32 cGPA, similar sGPA
No MCAT yet
No research
Over 1300 clinical hours as a Physical therapy tech. (Plenty of hands-on patient care). My goal is to accumulate another 1000 clinical hours in another setting before applying.
I will begin volunteering/shadowing this summer and plan on continuing until I apply.

So with my current GPA situation should I do a DIY post-bacc and if so, what should I be aiming for in terms of GPA to at least have a chance for MD? Masters? Formal post-bacc? I should mention that I am from a very low income family and I am also financially limited. I plan on paying out of pocket for whatever further route I take but will take out a student loan if needed to give myself the best shot of getting into Med School.

Any advice would be hugely appreciated!! Thanks

Members don't see this ad.