GPA requirement for English/Scottish/Irish medical schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

snowyface

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I graduated from a Canadian university with a BSc degree. However, my GPA sucks so much but I still managed to get into a MSc program in Hong Kong. I am not in the science stream right now but would like to pursue a career in medicine. So I would like to know what GPA are the English/Scottish/Irish universities looking for. And the thing is, the university I obtained my BSc degree from did not use GPA, instead, it used letter grades as well as %. So how would I transform the % calculation into GPA?

And I would like to know, which medical schools will have a lower GPA requirement, but still not too crappy as of the quality? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I got into UCD with 3.5 and from what I know, that's a great school, super huge with lots of $$$ and research happening.

Members don't see this ad :)
British med schools don't tend to use GPA. We have no "crappy" med schools, all of ours are considered totally equal. The individual school websites will tell you their requirements and contact details if you can't find them. Usually requirements will be similar to those of your home country.

I was just wondering if you dont make the required GPA cut off does your application automatically get rejected? Sine Im applying to Dental schools and most of them have a GPA cutoff of about 3.5 and above however my GPA is a 3.2 when I told them this they told me not to even bother to apply, however my friends studying in england told me not to listen to them?
so i was a bit confused
could anyone maybe clarify that matter?
Thanks
Ali