Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

GPA undergrad adjustment and Premeds in general

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by surfdevl02, Oct 11, 2002.

1. surfdevl02

surfdevl02 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

I know a lot of people on SDN have been inquiring about GPA adjustments in relation to the undergraduate institution they came from. I do have a definitive answer for that...well, at least for one medical school. I am a SC resident and recently interviewed at Medical University of South Carolina and the dean of admissions came out and told us during the information session that yes, they do adjust your gpa according to the institution you went to. And quite frankly, he offered to tell us exactly what the adjustments were if we wanted to ask. He says the school uses Barron's Guide to Colleges to do the adjustment. Apparently there is some scale of competitiveness in there that they use. I went to Duke University and Dean Underwood told me that they added .45 to our overall gpa when they screen and evaluate applicatioins from my school. I have no idea what factor they give for other schools...