GPR Residency GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Discovery01

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a dental student now in the first year. My gpa is around 3.2. I am afraid that it may even decrease in the future given-well I hope not but it may.

I know I do not want to specialize. But I may want to do GPR residency. Are there any GPR that accept students under 3.0? Every one that I have looked at accepts only 3.0 and higher. I hope I do not go under 3.0 but if I do is there hope or should I think about other plans now.

I know it is early to think about this but I also want to be realistic about the amount of time and energy I can put into this.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Do you HAVE to do a GPR? By that I mean, Do you want to practice in NY or Delaware?

If all you want to do is slide through dental school and pass all your exams, you can probably still get into a GPR, but why would you want to do that? It would probably be a crappy GPR that you would hate. You would be better off working for a dental mill like Western Dental or something like that. All they want is a warm body with a dental license, and you will make 6 figs.

Think about other plans such as what? quitting dental school? If you are thinking of doing that just because you worry about not getting into a GPR, than perhaps dentistry is not for you?? Don't worry about this now. Just concentrate on your scholastics and learning dentistry. You'll have a full 2 years to think about GPRs etc. if you have any other ?'s, feel free to send me a private message.

Hello,

I am a dental student now in the first year. My gpa is around 3.2. I am afraid that it may even decrease in the future given-well I hope not but it may.