GPRs with heavy oral surgery focus

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jkl6158

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a third year student starting to look into residency programs. I've been debating between general practice and OMFS for a long time, but I think I've decided to stick with general, in part because of the lengthy residency in OMFS and being burnt out at this point along with wanting to form relationships with my patients... not just see them once or twice.

Despite this, I still love oral surgery and want as much experience in it as I can get so I'd like a program that has a heavy focus on it. At the same time, since I do plan to pursue general, I think it's important to get a well-rounded experience at a GPR so I can be fast and competent when I finish, in all areas. I hear about GPRs based in trauma centers and how the residents get to work on all sorts of crazy stuff... this sounds awesome to me, yet at the same time I don't know if it's worth it being this won't be applicable to general practice. I also hear VAs are great programs, but I have a feeling they won't give me the OS experience I'm looking for.

Can anyone recommend any residencies that would appeal to these specifications? I'm in the top 5 of my class and got a 94 on Part I, so I don't expect grades to be an issue during the application process. I'm not really sure where I want to be yet, but I know for sure I'm not interested in NYC.

Members don't see this ad.

UVA's GPR (Charlottesville, VA) is known to have a good oral surgery component. We do tons of routine extractions, third molars, pre-prosth sx, OR, IV sedation, infection, dentoalveolar trauma, head/neck cancer, implants, etc. Aside from the surgery, you also get a great scope in all aspects of general dentistry (microscope endo, perio sx, C&B, some ortho, restorative). I'm finishing up my 1st year and have enjoyed it thus far.