alexandertg6

7+ Year Member
Nov 12, 2009
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Im currently a sophomore at UNC and i need a little advice. Im way ahead on my graduation requirements and only need 5 classes to graduate which seems like a bit of a waste of time to spend 2 years taking... I need to take organic chem 1&2, physics 2 and 2upper level biology classes (for my major).

I will be taking organic chem 1 and 2 over the summer so by the time i enter my junior year i will only need 1 course required before applying to med school (physics 2), as the biology classes i can take after i put in my application to med school.

Since physics 2 has a lab i dont think i can take them at the same time im taking organic chem because both have labs... Would it be possible to apply for medschool in the fall even though im still taking physics 2? Can you see any way around wasting a whole year to take one class?

Thanks for the help,
Alex

phonyreal98

10+ Year Member
Apr 20, 2008
Status
MD/PhD Student
Don't you have to take analytical+lab too? Because the analytical and orgo I labs are combined...:rolleyes:

And to answer your question...it sounds like you're rushing yourself a bit...if I were in your position I'd slow down, to be honest. Stay at UNC the four years and branch out a bit...add another major, add a minor, study abroad, etc etc. Doctors practice for 30+ years once they graduate med school...what's the harm in practicing for one less year in order to explore yourself? Who knows? Maybe even after this godawful basketball season, we might be in contention for another national championship in 2012!

alexandertg6

7+ Year Member
Nov 12, 2009
Status
Resident [Any Field]