• Set Yourself Up For Success Webinar

October 6, 2021 at 2 PM Eastern/11 AM Pacific
    SDN and Osmosis are teaming up to help you get set up for success this school year! We'll be covering study tips, healthy habits, and meeting mentors.

Register Now!

• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

Graduated and have gone back to local college to take pre reqs...BUT MY GPA!

DoIGoOrNo

Jul 7, 2020
  1. Pre-Medical
Hi all, first time poster her. I graduated from a big name university this fall with a 3.05 GPA and a BA in Psych. I was a and student largely because i never knew how to study and was just so lost on what i wanted to pursue. Long story shot, i decided to pursue medicine and hopefully enroll in a DO program. I am now taking the pre requisites at my local college and am doing well. I have gotten an A in my first course and am currently taking my second chem class (chem 2). I will also point out that my last semester at nyu i had a 3.95 gpa and the semester before i had a 3.65.

I am giving it my all right now, i plan to finish my pre reqs by next fall and aim to scribe all of next year. If i can pull of a 504+ mcat and a sGPA of 3.6-3.8 what are my chances of landing in a DO program. PS i am hispanic, i am not sure how much of a factor that plays.

dial1010usa

7+ Year Member
Mar 13, 2013
Golden State
  1. Medical Student
Make sure do the non clinical as well, like helping shelters, tutoring to little kids or even community services.
You plan is great and take MCAT after you done with all of your science pre-reqs.
As long as you do well in MCAT you should be good.