This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mpiano29

Reaction score
Hello,

First time writing on this forum so excuse me if there's any style of writing that might be novel or different.
I applied to medical schools in two previous cycles already and did not get into any MD schools that I applied to unfortunately. I'd like the idea of getting into medical school now, but this year I just took a break from the whole application process because it was so discouraging to keep applying to so many schools and get rejection letters over and over again (plus it gets pretty expensive to keep on applying if I can only expect rejections for a time). What I'm trying to figure out now, aside from the idea of going to graduate school, is if there's any way for me to still get into medical school at all.

I graduated from the University of Florida in May 2017 with a degree of Bachelor of Music, I had an overall GPA of a 3.80 and a sGPA around 3.53-3.57 depending on what you might have considered my science courses. I was a Music major with a pre-medical track and I took over 130 credits for my degree (including some classes that were 0 credits but still took up a lot of travel time and attendance time, i.e. recital attendance!). So yeah, I took all of the required science courses for the MCAT and for med school applications, I took the MCAT and got a 511 the second time after getting a 499 the first time. I had a lot of EC's and maybe over 200 volunteer hours by the end of my senior year plus 100 shadowing hours (140 by now) but I wasn't part of AMSA or any large pre-health groups like that (I preferred to be part of smaller pre-health groups to get to know people in the group more).