Graduated with no research, clinical experience, shadowing, or LoR's...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jumb0

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I graduated from undergraduate with no research, volunteering, shadowing, clinical experience, or LoR's of any sort. This is why I am taking a full two years off to fill in these gaps. I am studying for the MCAT right now and will begin volunteering at a hospital next month. I will take the MCAT in October then hopefully secure a clinical research position somewhere (even an unpaid internship). I plan to take post-bacc courses while being involved in that clinical research. I will also find time to shadow a physician, probably one from the hospital I will volunteer at. If all goes accordingly, I will ask for a LoR from the PI of the research, the volunteer coordinator of the hospital, a post-bacc professor of my choosing, and a bio professor from my alma mater. These LoR's will then get me a composite letter from the pre-health committee of my undergraduate university.

I will then apply in 2016.

Is this a viable plan? Will medical schools frown upon the fact that my EC's all occurred after graduating? Or will they look favorably upon my determination?

I'm going to do it either way. I just want some feedback on the viability of this 2 year gap phase plan.

Members don't see this ad.