Grasping at straws ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rudester17

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN members,

This is my first time on these forums and I am here to bare a little bit of my soul and story to see if I am a drowning man grasping at straws or if there's something to grasp at and hope for. If anyone can share some insight and/or advice I would appreciate it (especially from any fellow Mormon members out there). :)

I am a first generation Mexican immigrant from Mexico City and I grew up in San Diego after moving here at 9 months of age. I had one sibling, my sister Claudia, who was diagnosed with severe autism at the age of 3. When my parents or other people would ask me what I wanted to be I would reply, "a scientist so that I find a cure for my sister and she can be happy". Claudia was later correctly diagnosed with Rett Syndrome, another type of pervasive developmental disorder that shares similarities with autism. She proved to be my first and biggest inspiration to join the health professions field.

My academic career had looked promising growing up. Early on I was put in the G.A.T.E. (gifted and talented) program after taking some tests in Elementary school which had a tremendous affect on my parents who never had the opportunity to attend college. My father never finished high school because he had to work to support his family. After receiving a letter informing them of their child's test results my parents always tried to get me to achieve my full potential in all of my activities. I did exceedingly well in Middle and High School, taking a total of 6 AP classes, 5 of them during my Junior year and passing all of them with 4's and 5's.