GRE scores on the AMCAS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PsychStudent

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! I'm filling out my AMCAS and I noticed that it gives a place for other graduate test scores. I took the GRE about 5 yrs ago (I have a Master's degree), so should I go ahead and include that? I don't really understand the purpose or if it would help/hurt me. My scores were solid (low 700s on the general test and high 700s on the subject test), but they weren't stellar or anything. Thanks so much!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys! I'm filling out my AMCAS and I noticed that it gives a place for other graduate test scores. I took the GRE about 5 yrs ago (I have a Master's degree), so should I go ahead and include that? I don't really understand the purpose or if it would help/hurt me. My scores were solid (low 700s on the general test and high 700s on the subject test), but they weren't stellar or anything. Thanks so much!!

It is for MD/PhD peoples...

I'm not familiar with the GRE, but if your scores are solid, go ahead and list them. To me, it would show that you're good at a lot of different things*.

* Things defined as tests that can be expressed as acronyms.

Members don't see this ad :)
I really don't think it is necessary. I had a 800 on quant and 760 on verbal and I listed it. Pretty sure it didn't affect anything, as I wasn't even MD/PhD. But it certainly didn't hurt me, I think. If you did really well, it can't hurt to list it.

And I'm pretty sure MD/PhD (or maybe just MSTP) doesn't require GRE scores.

I really don't think it is necessary. I had a 800 on quant and 760 on verbal and I listed it. Pretty sure it didn't affect anything, as I wasn't even MD/PhD. But it certainly didn't hurt me, I think. If you did really well, it can't hurt to list it.

thats one of the highest GRE scores I have heard of to date (esp the verbal). beast