1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Guidance and Advice please!

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by OrdinaryMD, Aug 4, 2011.

1. OrdinaryDO

OrdinaryDO Membership Revoked
    Removed 5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Hello everyone, first thing I would like to say before I get into my thread is let you all know that, yes, I do only have 1 post, and Yes I know I have a long while before I can apply to any Medical school. I have been using these forums for guidance and advice rather than posting for my own self, so here I go.

I am just now heading into my second year of college, I am a sophomore with 35 credit hours and a 3.46 GPA. I am majoring in Pre-Professional/Pre-Med with only about 2 semesters until I receive an associates in this field. I am 19 years old, have hopes and interests in either attending University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, or University of Arkansas. I am 19 and plan on going about another 3-4 years before diving into the Medical School applications.

My first concern is I am attending a Community college right now, I am greatly worried that this will make my application look very tacky and make them doubtful of my capabilities to function well in a big class at the University level of schooling. Will going to a community college make my application less likely to be accepted?

Secondly, I have read and read about MDs and DOs but I am still not sure how people look at credentials and backgrounds and are able to tell which one is the best for for that person, both MD's and DO's have my specialty I want to go into here in Oklahoma, if anyone can help explain to me which one I may look at going into for the best chances of being accepted, please?