Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Guidance needed please -kinda long post-

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Nova77, Dec 18, 2008.

1. Nova77

Non-Student
    Let me start off by first saying ever since I was a freshmen in highschool I have always wanted to become a surgeon.

I graduated with good grades and I wanted to go to college to start on my way to becoming a MD but my parents didnt come from money nor did they save for my college either so I started looking into alternative ways to begin college but right when I started doing that my parents got divorced, 1 moved out of country and the other gave me the choice of joining the army or going to the streets( not BS just have a bad father).
    So not knowing what to do or where to go I joined up made it through basic easily with no problems but in AIT I had a bad run in with afew DIs and my CO and long story short I was discharged.

The army sent me back to where I came from wich is Anchorage Alaska and I had to start working at the highest paying job I could find right away wich was working manual labor out in negative degree weather for poor pay. I have worked as hard as i can for the past year and a half to regain a foothold and have a place to stay etc.

Its once again time I go for my dream career and complete my goals.

Im a hardworker and I have no problem at all with the studying or acedmic portion of becoming a doctor, my only problem is strictly finacial.

I would like to ask this great community if anyone knows what my first steps should be in following through with this goal.

Can I become a MD with no money,no credit,and no scholarship?
    If so how do I go about getting funds to go?

How much money would I have to get to go to 4 years of college and 4+ years of med school?