Hackensack Meridian vs. Drexel (WL)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medegg98

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I got waitlisted at Drexel and accepted to Hackensack, but wanted to see what people thought of the two schools should Drexel accept me off WL. I am a New England resident, so the two are similar distance from home with Drexel being a little further away. Additionally, I interested in going into an IM residency after medical school (probably Heme/Onc).

Hackensack Meridian
Pros
  • big health network
  • accelerated curriculum, option to go into residency at HM network hospital after 3 years (lots of IM spots available)
  • lots of community service available
Cons
  • new school: lower ranked, less reputable (especially with STEP 1 becoming P/F), a mess at times
Drexel (waitlisted)
Pros
  • More reputable school, higher ranked
  • Lots of opportunities for research and community outreach
Cons
  • lottery system for clinical rotations (some hospitals can be very far away)
  • 2 year preclinical curriculum
  • huge class size

I think for me it really comes down to Hackensack's less reputable school but large hospital network vs. Drexel's more reputable school but weaker network.

Members don't see this ad.

Drexel is certainly more reputable than Hackensack, mostly because Hackensack is a totally new school. That being said, that clinical lottery stuff is a serious downside. Secondly, academic IM is not so competitive to match (granted, top 20-30 is always a crapshoot) and will depend on the work you put in.

That actually reminds me, has Hackensack graduated a class yet? Do they have a match list?

Reactions: 1 user