DrAmir0078

AIC Resident / CA2 / KIMC
2+ Year Member
Sep 19, 2018
Iraq
Dear All,
I hope you are doing well, it has been a year since my last post where I told you about passing my 1st year residency exam (like ABA) here in Iraq where I am now a third year resident in Anesthesia and Intensive Care / Iraqi Board. It has been a tough year for all of us, and for me since Covid hits Iraq, we worked very hard to contain the crisis especially with a weak and devastated health system, it wasn't easy at all, we have lost so many doctors in Iraq and well known Anesthesiologists too unfortunately, because of covid, and for me I had contracted the infection last August, and it wasn't that severe too.
I started my third year residency back in October in another teaching center in Baghdad, and day after day, I am realizing how different my approach in dealing with the cases, and as you remember, I had shared my cases especially in late 2018 and through 2019; and I hope I can say I am back with my backpack of interested cases to me at least, and looking always for an answer from a different perspective.
My New Case - I believe case #5 on SDN:
10 days ago, I had a shift to run the ORs of the emergency cases - not OBGYN (it is usually a 24 hour shift at our medical city), anyway - a neuro team approached me to tell me about a case they need to replace her VP shunt because of blocking issue, and they request to have a reserved OR room, because it was full house, and I asked them about the case and here is the summary from the neurosurgeon : 30 years old female with a current GCS of 10, had an OP of VP shunt 2 weeks ago, because of a brain tumor, and she was kept at the ward for observation.