Hard Time Listening on the Phone

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PistonFan531

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys. I am an intern at Meijer Pharmacy and I have noticed that I have a major weakness, and it deals with listening on the phone. I do not have a hearing problem, but it seems like at times that I have a hard time listening to people on the phone and I have to ask them to repeat themselves over and over again. I do not know what my problem is. Like for example, earlier today I was on the phone with a doctor and I had to ask him repeatedly how to spell his last name and what his office phone number was. It is very frustrating because I feel very dumb every time this happens. Do you guys have any advice for me on how to improve my listening skills when I am on the phone with doctors or patients? How can I improve in this area?

Members don't see this ad.

If you're new to the job it just takes time. Everything will feel like it's going really fast for you until you get some more experience. Also, do one thing at a time until you demonstrate that you can safely multitask. Otherwise if you've been doing it awhile maybe you need to move to a part of the pharmacy that is more quiet when taking calls.

Reactions: 1 user
Just ask for the spelling once, give it your best shot. Just make sure to grab the office phone number and the DEA or NPI so you can look up the correct spelling in the computer after you get off the phone.

Members don't see this ad :)
Just ask for the spelling once, give it your best shot. Just make sure to grab the office phone number and the DEA or NPI so you can look up the correct spelling in the computer after you get off the phone.