Apr 17, 2019
Status
Medical Student
Hey guys,

I’m starting my M3 year later this summer and I’ve had a concern on the back of my mind nagging me during my dedicated.

In short, I’m an MD student in a US school who has a mild to moderate stutter. For context, I can get along well in conversations, although I may sometimes be hesitant and self conscious. I can get the words out most of the time, but it may sometimes be choppy from some blocks on words. I may look like I’m struggling to get some words out, my have poor eye contact (partly due to being self conscious about stuttering, and sometimes it’s just a habit I developed to hide my face so people “don’t see my stutter”). I’ll leave it at that but I guess you guys can ask me questions if you want to know more.

Anyway, the anxiety from new encounters in stressful environments (that is, the normal arousal we get from such situations in addition to the social anxiety I may feel from having dear with stuttering) can sometimes make me “stutter more”. I’ve had embarrassing situations in some of my group clinical skills simulations that left me feeling pretty embarrassed. However, on my clinical skills exams (where it’s just me and the simulated patient) I tend to do better. Moreover, we had practice sessions where we had to see a mock patient, and then present to an attending. I tended to be more fluent during the presenting, but there was just one time where I had a bad day.

Now, I’m aware there isn’t much advice you guys could give me, as this is a personal thing I deal with and is hard to relate with for those who don’t have similar issues. In that regard, I was hoping to get some advice from the perspective of having dealt with a lot of patients, attending, and other members of the healthcare team.