Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Have any of you medical students started in a community college?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by sk8hendrix19, Jan 2, 2009.

1. sk8hendrix19

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    Sorry, I know this question gets asked a lot, but it is usually in the pre-medical forum. I want to hear from the ones who actually made it, the ones who have facts, not speculation on the subject. So here is my story. I was a terrible high school student, one that did not care about grades. I did graduate, but only with a GPA of 2.2. Because of my terrible high school years, I could not get acceptance into any university, so I had to start in a community college. I am 100% dedicated to school now, and have a GPA of 3.8/4.0. My community college has a transfer connection with Indiana University, and as long as I leave community college with a 3.5, I will surely get accepted to IU. Once there, I plan to get a bachelor's in an area of science, either biology or cognitive science. My question is, even if I do great at IU, take all of my pre-med pre-reqs at IU, volunteer, and do pretty good on the M-CAT, will the fact that I had to start at Community College ruin my chances of Medical School? Sorry I am asking you guys, but you are the ones with the true experience. Do I have a chance?

2. OddNath

OddNath Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    No. Many people start out in community college to save some money while getting credit for intro classes. Lucky for you, no one gives a rat's @ss about high school gpa. Just keep your head up, do well in college, and don't look back.

3. scarletgirl777

10+ Year Member

Medical Student