having ADHD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

euni

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello

I am a medical student located in Asia and I am in my final year.
I have a Medical Licensing Examination in one month and got diagnosed of ADHD.
I feel so lucky that I am diagnosed, cuz I've heard that women ADHD are hard to get a diagnosis, still I need some time to accept it.

Does anyone here have ADHD ?
In US ( I am going to go to clerkship in US in Feb) or any other countries, how seriosly it is taken?
I am confidant having it, but I am afraid if I tell others they might judge me first by ADHD not by me. :rolleyes:

Members don't see this ad.

I am so glad this thread was started...any feedback on meds???

Members don't see this ad :)
I work in a lab dedicated to ADHD study (among other things) and with a few classmates who have it (though they had a hard time admitting to it). It is so sad to me that those with ADHD feel stigmatized because like many illnesses, it is not your fault, and I had hoped we were all at a point of accepting it. Certainly, it is a challenge that many others don't have but not impossible (I hope!)

Meds cannot legitimately be discussed generically as it varies so much from patient to patient.

I tend to open myself up and I don't know if I can keep this to myself for the rest of my life. Some of my classmates know cuz I've been telling them I am suspecting myself. Also, they helped me to get a diagnosis because they told me some differences that I have. But I will try to keep it a secret I think..:D
More people than I thought have this, and I think it is just who I am and the important thing is how I live my life knowing my trait. :cool: I was surprised that I have developed some strategies that I compensate without knowing. Treat it and move on I agree with that comment. For me it's been good and bad.

Euni,