Heading Into My Second Year of College and Have Not Volunteered. Ideas?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NewDayNewNight

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

First I would like to state that I am new here and if I put this post in the wrong forum, please correct me so I do not make the same mistake next time. The community here seems quite friendly so you might end up seeing me around often.
Right now I am a second year Community College student majoring in Biochemistry. My original plan was volunteer at my local hospital but personal issues became a problem and had to drop it. Now heading into my second year, I plan to volunteer at the hospital or other places that might interest me.
My problem is that other than a hospital what should I volunteer in?
Does the place I plan to volunteer at have to be medical related?
I have little knowledge on what medical schools look at in a person, other than GPA and MCAT scores of course, and hope I can learn from people on here. I have visited 4 different counselors and they all have provided little to no help.

I have other questions that I plan to post later on, but I for this post I want it to be strictly on volunteering ideas.

Members don't see this ad.

Try Hospice volunteering. Even being a companion and friend/talking to the patients on a scheduled basis every week makes all the difference.

Also try tutoring younger disadvantaged children in underserved areas such as inner city elementary schools if possible.

Both are rewarding experiences.

Also, no not every volunteering has to be medically related. In fact, I believe adcoms want you to do some non-clinical volunteering as well.

Whatever you do, if you get into those dead end volunteer positions where you organize old files or something... get out immediately. Its a waste of time and there is no meaningful experience you can write about doing secretary work.

Reactions: 1 users