• AMA with Certified Student Loan Professional

Join SDN on December 7th at 6:00 PM Eastern as we host Andrew Paulson of StudentLoanAdvice.com for an AMA webinar. He'll be answering your questions about how to best manage your student loans. Register now!

Health Insurance upon finishing residency

maxpower75

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Apr 10, 2006
  1. Attending Physician
    Hello all, I am currently a final year Nephrology fellow looking at jobs, I found a pretty good job offer that I am currently considering. I was kind of suprised when I was looking at the health insurance, I was curious if this kind of cost was the norm, the employee only cost is relatively cheap ($35.31 biweekly), if you include your wife it is $273.20 biweekly, the whole family plan is a total of $411.94 biweekly.
    Being a resident I am kind of ignorant regarding health insurance costs, is it fair to assume that you will pay about 10K/yr for health insurance premiums? I was curious if I could get some insight if this was pretty standard, or If I need to do more research on this topic.
    I thank you in advance!

OldPsychDoc

Senior Curmudgeon
    Moderator Emeritus
    Verified Expert
    15+ Year Member
    Dec 2, 2004
    Left of Center
    1. Attending Physician
      Hello all, I am currently a final year Nephrology fellow looking at jobs, I found a pretty good job offer that I am currently considering. I was kind of suprised when I was looking at the health insurance, I was curious if this kind of cost was the norm, the employee only cost is relatively cheap ($35.31 biweekly), if you include your wife it is $273.20 biweekly, the whole family plan is a total of $411.94 biweekly.
      Being a resident I am kind of ignorant regarding health insurance costs, is it fair to assume that you will pay about 10K/yr for health insurance premiums? I was curious if I could get some insight if this was pretty standard, or If I need to do more research on this topic.