Help a non-trad with a few bad grades get into medical school. Thanks!!

Dec 26, 2013
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi All,

This is my first post so hopefully I'll get some good feedback, this definitely seems like the best place on the web to post my situation.

While doing some career searching, I recently shadowed a friend’s dad for a couple of weeks (EM) and believe that this is exactly what I want to do with my life. I want to go to medical school for the entering class of 2016/2017 and become an EM physician.

I will be 24 years old next month, and graduated with a 3.8 GPA in a BA program in Economics and International Relations including A’s in statistics and econometrics. Took absolutely no science courses in college, so I’d need to do a postbac program.

Major problem is, even though I graduated with a 3.8 (84 credit hours) (, I transferred from another 4 year university where I had a 2.7 (60 credit hours) including five “D” grades (computer science, calculus, accounting, business, and one other class). Am I totally screwed for medical school, even if I get a 3.8-4.0 in a postbac program and do decently well on the MCAT?

If it helps, I’m a Texas resident, which opens up 8 out of state shielded medical schools to me, but again I worry about my D’s from when I was a freshman/sophomore.

Say I got a good science GPA in a postbac- if I applied to all 8 Texas schools, another holistic 8 out of state schools, and another 8 D.O. schools, would I stand a decent shot at getting into 1-2 of them?

P.S. I'm only considering American schools at this point.

Thanks for the feedback!

prettyNURSEtoMD

7+ Year Member
Jun 17, 2009
Dallas, Texas
Status
Pre-Medical