Help! Another ugent LOR question.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

searun

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I really need some advice regarding a letter of recommendation. I graduated from a small liberal arts college in 2005. Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Molecular Biology major. 3.8 gpa and 35Q MCAT. I have two science professors who know me very well and who are writing letters of recommendation. For my third LOR, I asked a writing professor that I got to know to write my non-science recommendation. He readily agreed and I mailed this prof my background information several days ago.

Here is my problem. I took two nonscience classes pass/fail during college - an economics class and this writing class. I took the writing class pass fail because I was not sure that I would get an A in the class and I needed an A in the class to get Magna Cum Laude honors on my diploma (anything less than an A in that class would have put me below 3.8 and I would not have been Magna Cum Laude. So I played it safe and took the writing class pass/ fail. I did get Magna Cum Laude but ironically, I would have gotten an A in the class had I taken it for a grade.

But since I did not take the writing professor's class for a grade, can I still use him as my non-science professor LOR? Technically I did not take his class for a grade and my transcript reflects this. But the professor would state in his letter that my work was A quality but I think that I have stumbled on a technicality.

Should I withdraw my request and try to find another humanities or social sciences professor to write my LOR. I know the writing professor would write a strong letter for me but I don't want to blow my chances because I did not adhere to the letter of the law. I am under the gun for time with my Premedical Committee at college which requires all letters submitted by August 31.