help--(clinical question)Opthalmo/Otoscopic Exams

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by hippocampus, May 5, 2007.

1. hippocampus

hippocampus Senior Member
    5+ Year Member

i am a 1st year medical student. i had a clinical skills exam a few weeks ago and i'm really bad at using the equipment. i can hear heart and lung sounds with the stethoscope, but i cant diagnose murmurs or COPD. i am slow with the opthalmoscope and otoscope. i cant locate tendons to check for reflexes. i am too nice and not assertive enough to patients because that is my personality (introverted and passive). i am afraid i will never be good at using those equipments and that patients will dominate me in the future. all my classmates seem so good at all of it, like they were born with these skills, and i am the only one with the hard time. am i doomed as a doctor? am i doomed for 3rd and 4th year? please give me some advice and some hope...

thanks

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. necrotic brain

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Of course you're not doomed as a doctor. Some things come naturally to people, and some things don't. These are acquired skills, and so they need practice. Use your otoscope and opthalmoscope on your family members. Practice tendon reflexes on them as well. Keep on trying every day until you get used to it. If you know there's a patient with a murmur, go find him/her and try diagnosing it. You're only in 1st year, so it's not the end of the world.

And try to be more assertive. Assertive doesn't mean aggressive. It means knowing that you know you're right, so believe in yourself. You can do this, trust me.

4. Critical Mass

Medical Student
    These skills get better with practice. Hang in there.

5. DoctorFunk

DoctorFunk Get down with the boogie
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]