Help - Failed...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
S

surferdude123

I am in first year medicine. On June 26 I just wrote my first exam, and flunked it. Not by much, but still failed none the less.

Our program is divided into 8 week blocks. It was a combination of Male and Female Repro phys, Microbiology, Obs/Gyn, Maternal/Fetal Phys, Anatomy of the Pelvis, and statistics and genetics. Our program is integrated so everything gets integrated during these 8 week blocks.

So anyway, I don't feel I deserve to fail as I studied for the exam, but I've also had a lot happen since first year started. 1) death of a family member and another one in serious condition in the hospital. 2) relapse of depression and the student affairs coordinator(physician) prescribed me Effexor, I also have an appointment with a psychologist for assessment.......also an appointment with the academic counselor to review study skills etc.....

but regardless I feel dumb, deflated, and discouraged, devastated. It just doesn't make sense, maybe I put the wrong effort into the exam??

like I've worked so hard to get into medical school, and I've had to overcome a lot of adversity in my life to get to where I am now, all to have my life come crashing down just when I thought things were going well....

Should I quit? (roughly 65K in debt).....keep going?! I really want to do medicine, but I don't want to keep failing........sigh.

Has anyone else faced this kind of ordeal? What are some suggestions..?

Members don't see this ad.

First of all, take a deep breath and slow down. You have to find out the consequences of your failure such as:

Does this put you on probation? If so, what are the conditions of your academic probation?
What is the remediation?
How can you handle this from here on out in terms of your approach to your exams?