Help! I'm entering college this fall..which college: Umich, Northwestern, or UCSB?!?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mv540

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I am a recent high school graduate in Michigan. I sent in SIR (deposits) to three schools: Northwestern, University of Michigan, and University of California-Santa Barbara. I was wondering which school I should attend if i were to do pre-med. I plan to major in Political Science, psych or econ. The problem is that I am afraid that the competition at Northwestern might be too hard and I might not obtain the GPA I would like. I believe I am in the bottom half of the entering class at NU. People might think if I got in, I must be smart enough to handle it. Honestly, people say that everybody worries about their abilities, but for me..i had to work three times as hard in high school in my ap classes to obtain a 3.6 gpa (low factoring in all the work I put into my studies). I think I burned myself out in high school trying to get into a prestigious college. Anyway, all that explanation is to show that my abilities is not up to NU standards. I know I won't fail out, but I'm afraid that I won't get that gpa of at least 3.6 there. I also don't want to burn myself out in college too. I know I have to work as a pre-med, but I don't want to be working 24/7 as in high school. I want to enjoy my experience. Now...I was thinking if I got to UCSB though, I could obtain a higher GPA and become higher class rank. Plus I would have a better quality of life there.I heard that gpa is really important and it doesn't matter what school you go to. I have done many research ( reading medical admissions book, talking to pre-med, my doctor, etc) and I still don't know what I should do. And also, I think UM would be a better fit for me (I like the school spirit and the atmosphere). But my friends that is attending NU this fall said that the reputat