SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

help me choose my job!!

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by hueydueyluey, May 2, 2007.

1. hueydueyluey

hueydueyluey

Feb 6, 2007
    Hi everyone!!

A little background: I graduated from UCLA with a degree in English. Worked in a biochemistry lab for 4 years at first to pay for school and eventually was able to do research and learn biochemistry principles. However I did not take extensive coursework in any of the sciences. I have started going back to school at the local community college and am taking a full course load to do the prerequisites. Starting slow with the chemistry and supplemental classes such as Econ, Psychology, Speech...etc. Also started volunteering at an outpatient pharmacy at UCSD hospital.

I currently work fulltime as a biochemist for a biotech. I have been working for over a year now. I work with immunology and essentially conjugate flourochromes to antibodies for specificity testing.

Just recently I have seen a job opening for a "lab analyst." The job is part time for the water company and basically I would ride around in a motor boat, collect water samples, and test them using chemical principles. Of course the job would also include all the minor chemistry work that everyone does such as cleaning glassware and preparation of media and so forth.