help me...im freaking screwed....=(

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

popoman

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
okie im a freshman in college starting my second semester. I got exactly 3.0 my first semester. "B" in chem, "B" english, "A" sociology, and "C+" in calculus...
i know i messed up bad... do i even have a chance for med school??.... everyone hear is not sure when they have 3.6-7 gpa???... so what should i do??? argggg...... should i apply for dental school, because i heard that it was easier.??... plz give me advise..lots of it

freaking out....
=(

Members don't see this ad.

First off, YOU NEED TO CHILL
eek.gif

There, better... Okay, I was once in your shoes. I had a 2.9 GPA after my first semester (about 3 years ago). Today, as I sit here and type, I know I'm going to med school next year. It was hard...REALLY HARD...to get my GPA up. I had to give up some of my social life (which was really awesome first semester) and spend lots more time in the library. But I did what it took and applied to med school this past June with a 3.7 cumulative GPA and a 3.8 science GPA. You probably notice where I'm goin' to med school next year -- I'm proud
biggrin.gif

A word of advice... Although you're a freshman, you are mature enough to decide whether or not you REALLY want to be a doctor or put yourself in a position where you can decide. You should shadow some doctors and volunteer in a clinical setting...that way you'll get a good sense of what you're working for and whether or not it's worth it... I think that this is THE most important thing you can do this year, besides raising that GPA!

Best of luck... If you choose the path I took, I guarantee you it'll seem ridiculously difficult and make you cry at times -- but that's part of what makes the way I feel right now so sweet.

-Attttchhhoo the Jerseyan
UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN '04