1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Help Me Pleeeese!!!!!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by lytesnsyrens, Oct 15, 2002.

1. lytesnsyrens

lytesnsyrens The Phoenix...
    10+ Year Member

Non-Student
    i have a quick question here. My science GPA is not all too hot (I'm making C's) but my overall GPA is about 3.3. Does that mean I'm pretty much outta luck here when it comes to getting into DO school? I have plenty of experience (working as an EMT in an ER) and I know I can get some good LOR's from the doc's I work with, but will my science GPA still hurt me too much? I've tried to bring it up, but I still can't seem to reach that 4.0. (or even 3.0 for that matter) I mean I did fine in Bio and Anatomy, it's just chem that's killin' me. someone please help me out here with some advice. Thanks so much,
    Selah +pissed+

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. DrMom

DrMom Official Mom of SDN
    Physician Moderator Emeritus 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    You're not out of luck, but you'll have to sell yourself well. Do be sure to emphasize your ECs. You'll also need to do decently on the MCAT.

Keep in mind that the vast majority of med school classses are science, so that science GPA is somewhat indicative.

4. rpames

rpames Optometrist
    10+ Year Member

Optometrist
    You are not totally out of luck, but your sci does need to be above a 2.5 if not 2.75 to even be considered. That is usually the cut off. I feel you pain, chem kills me too.

5. Qafas

Qafas Jarhead
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]