coldpizza

5+ Year Member
Mar 6, 2010
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I was hoping for some last minute advice on the Scramble. I am a US allopathic grad in a very competative specialty. I just found out this past week that my contract is not going to be renewed at the end of the academic year. Therefore, I wish to secure a PGY1 spot. I am well aware the ERAS/interview season is over... I am looking to do something stat so that I am not left "out in the cold" for next year (and lose a year of my life). I was going to try and participate in the Scramble. Any advice would be much appreciate.
thank you,
pizza that is cold

Law2Doc

5K+ Member
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Dec 20, 2004
Status
Attending Physician
I was hoping for some last minute advice on the Scramble. I am a US allopathic grad in a very competative specialty. I just found out this past week that my contract is not going to be renewed at the end of the academic year. Therefore, I wish to secure a PGY1 spot. I am well aware the ERAS/interview season is over... I am looking to do something stat so that I am not left "out in the cold" for next year (and lose a year of my life). I was going to try and participate in the Scramble. Any advice would be much appreciate.
thank you,
pizza that is cold
I think you need to register so that you get access to the list -- not sure if you missed the boat on this.

Sep 19, 2009
Status
Medical Student
thank you,
pizza that is cold
One of the mandatory requirements for participating in the scramble is that you should have applied to at least 1 program through ERAS before match day. I just wanted to bring that up so you could look into it, if you haven't done so already. I wonder if they are open to new applications now? The programs I applied to had a deadline of new yrs for applications. Really sorry to hear about your situation- I didn't know the programs could break the news to you so late and put you in such a pickle.

Last edited:

FutureDocDO

1K Member