• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

SxyDentalDiva

5+ Year Member
May 30, 2010
Status (Visible)
  1. Dentist
I really need advice! I am a first year dental student at an expensive private school...I took out approximately 95,000 this year for tuition & living expenses. I am trying to work on my credit so that I will be able to purchase a practice in a few years after dental school.

I have about 4,000 worth of debt to pay off. Some are more urgent than others...i.e. unpaid parking tickets. I don't think that I have enough money to live off of & pay down my debts.

What can I do?! I have considered getting a part-time job but I feel as if this would cut into my financial aid & I honestly don't know if I have time to work & study.

HoustonDAT

10+ Year Member
Jun 21, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Dental Student
$95k for one year? :whoa:

I don't think there is any part time job out there (besides the world's oldest profession) to make enough money to put a substantial dent into your loans while also giving you enough time to focus on school.

The best thing for you to do is to concentrate on school and make sure you graduate by 4 years. The last thing you need is the part time job to cause you to repeat a year or fail out. That would be catastrophic. It's just not worth it.

It's obviously not smart to pay a loan with a loan, but you need to stop the credit score hemorrhage. Can you ask a parent, sibling, relative for a no interest loan? There are always ways to get the $4k from living expenses. Do you live in a nice apt? Do you live by yourself? Do you have cable TV? Do you have a car? Do you drink? Do you hit the mall often? Do you spend a car note on hair, nails, makeup? Do you go out to eat? Do you buy starbucks every morning? Planning on making trips with classmates?

Last edited:

SxyDentalDiva

5+ Year Member
May 30, 2010
Status (Visible)
  1. Dentist