Help trying to work on an MCAT study plan - overwhelmed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whyjudywhy

Reaction score
Hello, to make a long story short, I am planning on taking the MCAT next summer and I need some advice on how to go about studying. There are just so many guides that it's really hard to figure out what to do/what materials to use.

At this point I think my biggest concern is content review. I recently took/retook orgo so I feel fairly fresh on that. I was a psych major so I have a lot of background there (will do soc in the fall) and I took a bunch of bio classes so I at least have some background there. My biggest concern is c/p because I do not for the life of me remember much from those classes.

Another consideration is that I know my studying style well enough to know that reading from a book is the worst way for me to learn. I do a lot better with videos/lectures.

This is kind of a rough idea of what I'm thinking about doing and I'd greatly appreciate any advice:

Summer '21 -> taking 3 classes, but I think I could at least start to get my feet wet. My idea is to go through Chad's videos and/or Khan Academy
Fall '21 -> I'll be taking soc and retaking biochem I. I was thinking this is when I could really seriously start studying. I think I could finish working on videos and start working on Anki. What/how should I be focusing my time here?
Spring '22 -> Continue studying/reviewing. Work on practice problems and practice exams
Summer '22-> Try to take MCAT early/mid summer so I have time in late summer/early fall if I need a retake (won't be applying then but I can't do it mid/late fall for personal reason).

Members don't see this ad.