Help with BS section

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

up40loves

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a weak background in biology as I am a non-science major. I studied Kaplan's biology book and skimmed through EK biology but I am still having problems on the Biology section. Does anyone have any tips or advice? Is there a certain way that I should study for it?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Since you're a non science major you first master the content. Don't skim through the material as that'll just waste your time. Use your introductory level bio book that you used during biology class and try to read the topics outlined in the Kaplan bio book from the college text book. After this you can go on and start doing questions (discretes first and then passage based).

Another factor to consider will be the time you have before your actual MCAT. I would recommend you giving yourself about at least 3-4 months in mastering the content and then applying it in context.

Hope that helps

Since you're a non science major you first master the content. Don't skim through the material as that'll just waste your time. Use your introductory level bio book that you used during biology class and try to read the topics outlined in the Kaplan bio book from the college text book. After this you can go on and start doing questions (discretes first and then passage based).

Another factor to consider will be the time you have before your actual MCAT. I would recommend you giving yourself about at least 3-4 months in mastering the content and then applying it in context.

Hope that helps

Thanks, what techniques would you use for the BS section?

Thanks, what techniques would you use for the BS section?