Help with school list CA Resident (516 MCAT, 3.91 GPA)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shawshankredemption

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! I was hoping I could get some suggestions on my school list. Please let me know if I’m missing a school I should apply to, or if there is a school I should remove. Thank you!

I’m a CA resident at a public in-state university with ties to California’s Central Valley. Biology (B.S.) Honors Minor in Interdisciplinary Studies. South Asian.

cGPA:3.91

sGPA: 3.94

MCAT: 516 (128/131/127/130)

Clinical Experience:

• 250 hours volunteering in an ER

• 100 hours of volunteering in a free medical clinic in Tijuana, Mexico as a member of Flying Samaritan’s (if any of you are familiar with the organization)

• 100 hours volunteering with Family Health Centers of San Diego
Shadowing Experience:

• Shadowed roughly 150 hours across multiple specialities, such as: cardiology, pediatrics, emergency medicine, ophthalmology, hematology/oncology and family medicine; listed in order from greatest hours to fewest hours.
Research Experience:

• Roughly 1000 hours in a heart research lab at my university. (Great LOR from distinguished professor)

• Second author publication

• Keck summer research fellowship, around 100 hours (Great LOR)
Non-Clinical Volunteering:

• I volunteered for two weeks in a food kitchen in Lisbon, about 5 hours/day with IVHQ. It was a really impactful trip and I will list it as a significant EC on my applications.
Leadership Experience:

• I have extensive leadership experience in something that I will not list, because if I do it will reveal my real name and I prefer to keep my privacy. It is a big part of my application and something that really sets me apart. I will list it as a significant EC on my med school apps. (Great LOR from Dean of the College of Science)

Awards:

• Full-ride academic scholarship (merit-based)

School List: