1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

MD Help with school list

Discussion in 'What Are My Chances?' started by Francesco Maoli, Sep 4, 2014.

1. Labkid

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I've never made one of these threads so I don't know all the information you guys would like to see but I'll put up everything I know off-hand and supply more as you ask for it.

cGPA 3.253 sGPA 3.57

I have not taken the MCAT (Will take on OCT. 25th) and was told you can apply and they will wait for the scores to come in. I am shooting for at least a 32 and have gotten 30 on the practice so I am still studying hard.

I have 1 more year (this & next semester) before I am done with university. I am aiming to do some volunteering hopefully right after I receive my scores (if satisfactory) just in case I don't make it in this time. This way I'll have started on volunteer hours already for next app process.

Shadowing: CV (6hrs), Gastro (20-30hrs), Peds (20-30hrs), Trauma (80+hrs)
    Volunteer: None (I have e-mail, called multiple times they don't tend to reply to me, will keep trying)
    Research: Will be doing a 3-4 credit hour research for a semester in a E-Microscope lab

I know the professors from which I want a letter of recommendation from, all of whom have previously written me great rec letters previously and have agreed to write me one again at any time I need it. All I need to do is ask. (2 science professors, 1 non-science)

I don't know if it makes much a difference but the resident I shadow I have gotten to know pretty well. I only get to shadow him on call so it's always trauma but I could ask him to write me a letter of recommendation.

Current School List: (Haven't looked much further than SC since money is an issue for me)

• MUSC