Help ... : /

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bob319

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright, I'm stuck in the middle of applying because I am hesitant in believing that I will even be accepted! I'm at a large Big Ten school and it is hard to get good advice/help

Human Biology UG Major
GPA: 3.1 (may go up .1 or .2 after this term)
GRE: 550v 550q 4.0w (not fabulous)
LOR's - 1 great one, 1 good one, 1 standard
Other: Sorority for 4 years- not many of these on the forum lol but I was financial vice president for 2 years with lots of volunteering and I helped with the International Council for the organization with installing a new chapter. I studied abroad in Africa for 1 month with coursework pertaining to their health system. I also have 6 credits (4.0 for both courses) on the graduate level in the College of Human Medicine (went along with my study abroad - it was an MPH study abroad program)

I know public health is what I want to do and where my skills and efforts will be best utilized. I just can't even wait to get into the work field!

I'm planning to apply to lots of school, BU is my top choice but I am well aware that it is a stretch. My list also includes SUNY albany, UF, GW, Pitt, UT, and Drexel.

Chances? Thoughts? Other schools I should look at in my range? I would so love some advice from people who know what they are talking about! Thanks :)

Members don't see this ad.

I also should add I'm extremely interested in PeaceCorps and currently speaking with a recruiting officer to get an app out for that as well? maybe go for the MI?

Hey! Without knowing all circumstances, I think you have an excellent chance of getting into a school. I think you should definitely get on finishing your application so that it can get in as soon as possible, I'm sure the earlier it is reviewed the better (i.e. the later they get it the more spots they may have already filled).