Helpful for a future doctor??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dantt

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a recent graduate who is applying for the fall 2007 medical school class. I was just recommended by my professor to solid model for Boeing. This would definitely be a great experience / look good on my resume . . . if I were going to be an engineer. But I'm going to enter medical school. I wrote in some of my secondary applications that I was planning to do some work in the biotech/pharmaceutical industry to get another perspective on medicine on my year off. Would this be a bad idea?

Your thoughts are appreciated :)

Members don't see this ad.

dantt said:
I am a recent graduate who is applying for the fall 2007 medical school class. I was just recommended by my professor to solid model for Boeing. This would definitely be a great experience / look good on my resume . . . if I were going to be an engineer. But I'm going to enter medical school. I wrote in some of my secondary applications that I was planning to do some work in the biotech/pharmaceutical industry to get another perspective on medicine on my year off. Would this be a bad idea?

Your thoughts are appreciated :)

I'd personally say go for it...not only is it an excellent opportunity for you, but I think that a premed excelling and achieving in something like this would definitely be classified as well-rounded. Even if this well-rounded crap isn't really true, it's an excellent opportunity for you...at least that's what I think... Good luck!

some advice I was told early on: do what you want to do, not what you think med schools want you to do...
I thought that was some pretty good advice. Go for Boeing if you think you'd enjoy it. It def won't hurt your app.

Members don't see this ad :)