1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Helpful for a future doctor??

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by dantt, Aug 11, 2006.

1. dantt

dantt Member
    10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I am a recent graduate who is applying for the fall 2007 medical school class. I was just recommended by my professor to solid model for Boeing. This would definitely be a great experience / look good on my resume . . . if I were going to be an engineer. But I'm going to enter medical school. I wrote in some of my secondary applications that I was planning to do some work in the biotech/pharmaceutical industry to get another perspective on medicine on my year off. Would this be a bad idea?

Your thoughts are appreciated :)

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. phospho

phospho SDN Lifetime Donor
    Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I'd personally say go for it...not only is it an excellent opportunity for you, but I think that a premed excelling and achieving in something like this would definitely be classified as well-rounded. Even if this well-rounded crap isn't really true, it's an excellent opportunity for you...at least that's what I think... Good luck!

4. laurenem

2+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Medical Student
    some advice I was told early on: do what you want to do, not what you think med schools want you to do...
    I thought that was some pretty good advice. Go for Boeing if you think you'd enjoy it. It def won't hurt your app.

5. deuist

deuist Stealthfully Sarcastic
    Physician Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician