SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Here to help if I can

Discussion in 'Psychology [Psy.D. / Ph.D.]' started by PsyDDoc, Apr 21, 2007.

1. PsyDDoc

PsyDDoc

Apr 21, 2007
    Hi,

I am a clinical neuropsychologist and graduate of the Chicago School of Professional Psychology (CSPOPP) (PsyD). I am currently practicing in Central Florida at one of the larger hospitals.

I have been reading through the forums and am dismayed at the impressions some students have of the practical differences between the PsyD and the PhD (there are really very few, if any) in clinical practice.

I am here to answer any questions you folks may have about the realities of practicing as a doctor of psychology in a hospital, i.e. responsibilites, flexibility, salary etc. I am here to help some of you makes some decisions either way (Ph.D. or Psy.D.) and shed light on the recent changes in reimbursement and medicare. I am in a unique position as my wife is also a practicing neuropsychologist with a Ph.D.

Just as an aside, we (my wife and I) both conducted rigerous clinical externships (I did three, she did two) and we both completed quantitative disserations (not a CRP). So fire away. Again, I can only speak to hospital or clinic based practice. My practice is split between inpatient rehabilitation (CVA, head injury, spinal cord) and outpatient neurology (dementia).

Glad to be here.

PsyDDoc

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. CheetahGirl

CheetahGirl Clinical Psychologist 10+ Year Member

Feb 15, 2007
    formerly from Atlanta, GA
    Welcome! ;)

4. nobleheart

nobleheart in process 2+ Year Member

Apr 11, 2006
    oklahoma
    Thanks...I am sure we are all grateful for your time.