Here's my situation and need major help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

watsupdoc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I took the MCAT last August and bombed it (under 20). Planning to retake in July or August. If I apply early, I think admissions will disregard my application because of my first score. I have a 3.5 GPA, a lot of volunteer experience and great recommendation letters. I'm stressing about this. I need help. I feel like giving up. What should I do? I'm studying now but feel like I won't be prepared by July but I might be well prepared by August. Please help.

Members don't see this ad.

Sounds like you would like to re-take the MCAT. From what I've heard and seen on this forum-

1. Re-take the MCAT only if and when you are better prepared than the last time.

2. Did you do badly last time bcs of any particular reasons, then you may explain those in your personal statement?? Or try doing courses to make up for the MCAT? if these are applicable/possible

3. Calm down and re-think on what went wrong the last time... was it the sciences or VR? Was it knowledge of concepts or test taking? You've really got to analyse what went wrong.. and prepare rigorously to make up for those specific shortcomings, rather than going over the entire prep process.

that's my two cents.. hope it helps! best of luck and chilll..... its not the end of the world if your MCAT was badd..:) overcome your stress, and calmly think abt what you need to do- thats half the problem solved!!

Retake it as early as possible, and submit your primary as soon as you get your new score. Send in your transcripts to AMCAS ASAP. That should reduce the time your application is in processing. If you really do have outstanding letters and ECs, you should get an interview somewhere. Just make sure to get your secondaries in ASAP.