Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Here's My Story

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by MDAG11, Dec 21, 2008.

1. MDAG11

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    This is my first post on SDN so I'd really appreciate some honest friendly feedback and guidance. I'm a first generation college student attending University of California. My Father has only studied up to like 7th grade - went to preisting school afterwards. My Mother Barely finished Highschool - my grandparents didn't allow her to continue her education because the only colleges available in the village were coed (they were very conservative indian parents) . I've always been a pretty smart kid - I can read something or listen to something and pick it up pretty fast but even in highschool I was never the one pulling straight A's or anything. Somehow I made it into the university with hard work and perseverance. After I came to university, I was extremely lonely and homesick - as I have never not been without my parents for that long. To top it all off my roommate turns out to be a total b*tch - turning situations and twisting what actually happened into something that would make her seem like a good person. anyways I won't go into the details of that - she was just a total liar. and by the end of first year, I would cry myself to sleep and go home every single weekend. I would be more afraid of coming back to the dorm and seeing her rather than worrying about my upcoming calc/chem midterm. I really tried hard to tell myself that I won't let these stupid social situations affect my work, but First year I ended up with like a 2.0 gpa rounded down - with similar bcpm. I'm a sophmore right now and have definitely moved out into an apartment. Although my roommates no