Hey there. I'm new. Question regarding "experience".

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

soclueless

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question for you all and I was hoping for your input. I am currently a nontrad student majoring in chemistry. My school has a partnership with an area medical school to obtain our MPH as a 4:1 program. It's interesting and I'm really considering it, as I'm interested in epidemiology. This would be my application year for it. It's easy - no GREs to hassle with, app fees, etc. Just apply and be done (of course I am oversimplifying just a bit here).

Anyhow, to really "do" epidemiology, I'd probably be a bit better off at another area school. Of course, they require more experience in the field with an application. This is where it's tricky as I have a heavy course load this year and two kids, but I could look for an internship (or wait til after graduation). Now, I used to work for a nonprofit medical association (for 4 years). I started as an admin - working with our physician members with their questions/issues (glorified customer service). Eventually I was promoted a few times and ended up organizing CME activities for doctors, sat in on committee meetings and took minutes, edited abstracts and abstract booklets, did some editing and writing for our newsletter (mostly ghost-wrote for our doctors). Not exactly a part of policy making, but adhering to the policies, etc, nonetheless.

In your opinions, would this somewhat qualify as experience? Sorry if this is a redundant question - please don't flame me.

I am having trouble deciding which route to go. Obviously, saving a year of tuition would be great, plus the partner school is much, much closer to home. But I want to choose the best fit at the same time.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: