Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Hi Guys...need some help deciding how competitive I am..much thanks!

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by 06mazdasports, Apr 19, 2007.

1. 06mazdasports

First of all, this is a great website, and it has probably helped so many students get crucial information.

My question to you guys is: How competitive am I?

I am a 3rd year student at Michigan State. I am a physiology major in the lyman briggs school of science.

I started my freshman year pretty rough. Here are my GPAs for the 5 semesters I have completed at MSU. I just want to see if this trend helps my situation. 1st: 2.07 2nd: 2.5 3rd: 2.87 4th: 3.67 5th:2.6 6th(currently in): ~3.0.

i have retaken 3 classes, Chem 1, Orgo 1 and orgo 2. i never failed any of them, but did poorly. i replaced all 3 classes from a 1.5 to a 3.0. Since D.O schools count only the retake grade(correct?-unlike Allopathic?), would I just calculate my GPA based on the retake grades?

IF SO, My Cumulative would be about 3.0 and my science GPA would be around a 3.1.

Also about everything else: I worked at a hospital one summer for 500 hours(it was paid). + volunteered at a health clinic for ~50 hrs, local hospital ~50 hours. 2 years here at MSU(I am a 3rd year now) I have held 2 positions on a major organization board. I dont want to list the organization for obvious reasons, but it would be considered one of colleges largest organizations. I was PR and VP in that order. Also, I started a business about a year ago, and although it is not medically related, it is something which is my hobby. I have had great sales, and also it is a registered business in my state. I plan on donating money soon also.

That being said i am 21, i have the ability to open great conversations, I am outgoing I would say, and i have great interest in medicine.