Hi, I'm new and I need some advice about med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shinelikestars

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I've been lurking on this forum for about a month, and I think it's about time I made a post. I'm a second semester freshman in college that's majoring in chemical engineering and I have a few questions. My first semester was terrible--not just bad, but TERRIBLE. I got a 2.6 gpa mostly because I took classes that were way above my head and way too many honors classes--along with the fact that I took 19 hours of classes. I realized my problems this semester and still took difficult classes, but not anything terribly bad like before and I have A's in almost every class--I think my average gpa this semester is around a 3.7. However, I did have to drop Calculus II because I was making a C in that class and didn't want it to mess with my GPA.

Also, my studies were hindered for about a month in my first semester because Hurricane Ike hit my hometown pretty hard and hit the university (albeit not as badly, but enough to cancel classes for a week).

Let me put my grades into short statistics.

Last semester (2.6 gpa)
3 hrs| Chem I: C
4 hrs| Cal I: B
6 hrs| Human situation; Antiquity (an honors philosophy in literature class that freshman are mandated to take and <5% get A's in): B+
3 hrs| History honors (with a very difficult professor): C+
3 hrs| Intro to Chemical Engineering honors: A

total hours: 19

This semester
3 hrs| Chem II: A- (can bring this up or down; two exams left--I'm already studying for the one that is a week and a half from now!)
4 hrs| Cal II: W (was a C)
4 hrs| Human situation; Modernity: B+
3 hrs| Political Science honors: A
1 hrs| Chem I lab: A
1 hrs| Chem II lab: A

total hours: 12 | originally 16, but I dropped Cal II