High MCAT, Average GPA. What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sojin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I just got my scores back today for the June MCAT. I did much better than I expected and went from planning to take a year off to working on my application. Anyways here are my stats:
I am an undergrad at Ohio State studying Physics.

cGPA: 3.75
sGPA: 3.73

Score: 524 ( P/C 132, B 132, C 130, P/S 13)

EC:
30 Hours of volunteering at MICU
30 Hours of volunteering at SICU
20 Hours of volunteering at Hospital
2 Semesters of research at a biochemistry lab( Might get a paper published out of it)
6 Weeks research at a Cancer Institute( Paper published; however, there are 15 or so authors)
I’ve been shadowing a vascular surgeon and a cardio-surgeon over the past three weeks.

For LOR I have three strong ones ( From my biochem lab professor, the professor I worked with at Karmanos, and the MICU family coordinator). I might be able to get two more from my college professors but I”m not sure about that( 1 from psych and 1 from english).

I’ve only looked at MD schools, if I can’t get into any I’ll wait a year, and here’s my list:
U of Michigan
Ohio SU
Wayne State
Michigan SU

As I said I was planning on waiting a year so it’s a pretty short list. I’m unsure about which schools are in my range so any help with that would be appreciated! (I'm a Michigan resident)

One last thing, I came to the US 3 years ago after escaping war in m home country and my experience with the war played a large role in wanting to become a doctor. I was wondering if my experiences will help me with my application. Thanks again!

Edit: I've been getting messages about how I studied for the MCAT and I'm glad to help. So if you have any questions about that shoot me a message and I'll try my best to answer!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: