Apr 14, 2010
Status
Hey everyone,

I'm applying to school this coming June and I was wondering if anyone could give me some opinion of what they think my chances are.. I'm a NY state resident

3.6 gpa overall (3.6 science) at top 20 undergrad
31Q MCAT (11B, 10PS, 10V)
Edit: sorry, forgot to mention only took MCAT once..

I used the "competitiveness" tool from SDN website, which said I'm competitive for most of my state schools..

Research:
1 semester undergrad biophysics lab
1 summer research assistant (same biophysics lab)
--> publication co-author (2nd author)
1 year post-bac IRTA at NIH (staying on for 2nd year)
--> publication (not 1st or 2nd author..) under review

Clinical:
2 summers shadowing at doctor's office (same doctor)
5 months volunteering at OR
5 months shadowing at OR (multiple doctors, different surgeries)

Volunteering:
1 summer American Cancer Society (highschool)
100 hours at Bowery Mission (highschool)
Habitat for Humanity (college)

I'm worried because I feel like nothing stands out really in my application. Nowadays everyone has the research, clinical experiences, etc.. But my gpa isn't strong, nor is my MCAT and I think I'm severely lacking in the clinical aspect.. The only thing that's working for me is I'm applying early (haha, but seems like most people on this site are)..

Any comments/opinions would be appreciated.

Sep 4, 2006
Inside the tesseract
I think your numbers are fine and that your research will be well above average. High school activities are generally not regarded or useful unless you continued the activity into the college years, leaving you with the hours at H for H for your nonmedical community service.