Honestly, what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gracielin89

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

Alright, so I recently took the MCAT and received my scores. I got 12PS, 11BS, and...... 7V. My verbal was really bad, as you can see. My current GPA is 3.875, but I'm trying to get it up to at least 3.9. And I'm majoring in biomedical engineering.

I currently go to the University of Missouri (Mizzou) and I'd be happy going to our medical school. The average MCAT score is a 29 (I think) and the average GPA is around a 3.7.

I'm in the application process now. Trying to figure out all this personal statement stuff. I know I definitely need to address my low verbal score in my PS, and they'll ask about it if I get an interview. My question is, what are my chances of getting into a med school?

Grace

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Nice GPA! The overall MCAT score is acceptable, but what you have to be worried about is being screened due to a "minimum requirement" in each section of the MCAT. Much like how at least a C is required in each prereq class, most schools will probably require at least an 8 in each MCAT section. Retaking the MCAT and boosting that verbal a point or two should not only ensure an acceptance at a med school, but also broaden your choices and competitiveness at higher tier schools.

If "Mizzou" is the school in Columbia, then their bottom 10th percentile for verbal score is an 8, giving you little choice about a retake if you'd like to go there for med school. Median MCAT score for acceptees is 31, GPA 3.8, according to the current MSAR. Median matriculant data from the previous year was 30.9/3.77.

Members don't see this ad :)
Anyone else dont get how a 3.975 is not already a 3.9? :confused:

:D

Yeah, I though the same...although I'm no math expert.:laugh:

Retake the MCAT and you will be find, even with a 3.975 (a 3.9 would be better though)