Honorably Dissmed School Not Listed In AMCAS Application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smarqu01

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I transferred to a four-year University after my community college. Not able to afford tuition, I was forced to withdraw within the first weeks of my first term. The advisor that was handling my dismissal, notified me that no course would be listed on my transcripts. I never returned to that University, instead came back home and took more classes at my community college until my financial situation "stabilized". I apply and was accepted to transfer to a different University the following fall, where I completed my degree.

I recently submitted my AMCAS application, not listing the University I withdrew from.
I spoke to an AAMC representative who regretfully informed me that a transcript was in fact required from that University.

Before I applied, I was sure to read the transcript requirements on the AAMC manual. I found this line:

"Colleges where you registered but did not earn any credit (e.g., incompletes, withdrawals, failures, audits, etc.)."

Under the believe that this was only pertinent to classes that were listed on official transcripts, and knowing that the University did not have a record of any of the classes I had enrolled in, I went ahead and chose not to include the school in the application.
After speaking with the AAMC rep, I called and spoke to a pre health advisor from that University, and they confirmed my transcripts were blank and that they also did not see a reason why I should have had to report their University.

However, AAMC makes the rules and now after speaking to the AAMC rep, who I should mention put me on hold several times throughout our conversation, I am freaking out! I just accumulated so much credit card debt and took out loans to afford the application process (I didn't qualify for FAP, another long story).